I’m Single Because I’m Ugly, Apparently

Shani Silver
5 min readNov 29, 2022

Hey, just repeating what I’ve read.

This is my face.

Once, not long ago, I told the truth on the internet. The way you can tell you’re telling the truth is when the people you want to help agree with you and the people you want to stop hurting the people you’re trying to help have a big problem. Men who are making the dating space a reeking cesspool set aflame really had a problem with me telling the world (or like a few thousand people) they were doing that, while the women who read my essay raised a glass in my direction.

Typically, if I receive a notification saying that a traditionally male name has left a comment on this essay, I delete the notification without reading it, they do tend to be repetitive. But today, for some reason, the Universe made sure to send me something to write about. I received this comment at approximately 11:47am today Central Standard Time:

Ignoring for a moment the fact that you should have to have a license to use the internet, can we focus on the fact that someone who doesn’t show his face is intent on insulting mine? As usual, may whatever hurts my feelings make me money, and even if it doesn’t actually hurt my feelings my skill sets involve weaving donkey shit into Egyptian cotton so let’s swaddle this motherfucker, hmm?

--

--